Sweetest Sorrow by J.M. Darhower

sweetestsorrowTitle: Sweetest Sorrow (Forbidden #2)
Author: J.M. Darhower
Genres: Romance, New Adult
Release Day: August 29th 2016
AMAZON US | AMAZON UK
add to goodreads

Dante Galante has evaded death a few times in his life, but held captive in a sweltering basement, he’s certain that death has finally caught up to him.

As a critical care nurse, Gabriella Russo witnesses suffering often. Thick-skinned, forever cautious, she doesn’t take her work home with her… until Dante Galante lands himself in her hospital. Recklessly grieving the sister he believes he’ll never see again, Dante needs a friend. Just a friend. That’s all it’s supposed to be.

But life has other plans for them, just as it had for Matteo Barsanti and Genevieve Galante. Away from the chaos, building a life of their own, there’s only one thing that could ever bring them back to New York: Dante.

4 stars! 

After a JMD book, I usually need a few days to myself to come back from that fangirl place my feels take me because this woman can do no wrong. She combines genres so beautifully and so effortlessly that her books give me major book hangovers!

Last year I got By Any Other Name on my inbox out of the blue and I went in knowing my feels will die – and they did. This year Sweetest Sorrow was a surprise release I didn’t even know about and I happily went back into that world because it’s JMD!

“The only good Barsanti is a dead Barsanti.”

Genna and Matt, the star-crossed forbidden lovers that are the modern version of Romeo & Juliet but the Mafia version are back! Technically this book is about Dante, Genna’s brother but we got a lot of POVs in this one so I’ll say it’s a double-sided book, we get Dante and his life after Genna and Matt ran away and Genna’s life with Matt on the run. Dante is in the hospital – not shocked considering the BAON ending, kind of relieved he’s not dead. His POV has a little more Mafia related stuff than Genna’s but also an unexpected love interest with a nurse he meets while at the hospital. I don’t want to spoil anything, especially if you haven’t read the first book but let’s just say everything is possible in the mafia world and this book had the sweetest ending of all – I can only hope we get another book.

If I had to compare POVs I’d have to say I was almost skipping Dante’s to get to Genna and Matt’s because honestly, from the first book they just grabbed me and they are at a point in the story that you don’t want to loose a single word from their story let alone pause it to skip to someone else’s story and then get back to them but Dante’s life was just as interesting – bad timing and placement for it to unravel.

The best part aside from Genna and Matt? CORRADO FREAKING MORETTI! He makes an appearance here in the most amazing way and it made me cry a little because the more you get to know him and the tougher he tries to appear the more I fall in love with this character! Do yourselves a favor and read the Sempre series ♥

other books in the series

ByAnyOtherName

Kei

Talk to me...

