Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins

annaTitle: Anna and the French Kiss (Anna and the French Kiss #1)
Author: Stephanie Perkins
Genres: Romance, Young Adult
Release Day: December 2nd 2010
AMAZON US | AMAZON UK
add to goodreads

Anna has everything figured out – she was about to start senior year with her best friend, she had a great weekend job, and her huge work crush looked as if it might finally be going somewhere… Until her dad decides to send her 4383 miles away to Paris. On her own.

But despite not speaking a word of French, Anna finds herself making new friends, including Etienne, the smart, beautiful boy from the floor above. But he’s taken – and Anna might be too. Will a year of romantic near-missed end with the French kiss she’s been waiting for?

4 stars! 

“Boys turns girls into such idiots.”

Finally! These books have been on my Kindle for ages and yet I never got around to reading them all so I did read them all. In two days. Yes, they were that good!

“How many times can our emotions be tied to someone else’s – be pulled and stretched and twisted – before they snap? Before they can never be mended again?”

Now before I start with my review I have to say the hype was right! Stephanie Perkins has created this world that is very representative of the average teenager’s life. Sure it is heavy on the dramatic stuff but there is a balance between the three girls. They each have something unique that makes them feel real. They did have flaws – of course – but show me a teenage that does not.

“That’s it,” Rashmi says. “I’m outta here. Enjoy your hormones.”

Rashmi keeps it real. Rashmi needs a book.

Anna is the classic American teenage girl. She is completely oblivious to everything beyond the borders and that pissed me off and made me love the book at the same time. I have no idea if it was done on purpose or not but the author portraits the character exactly like she should. An American girl that goes to a rich French school for other rich Americans that their parents can’t be bothered to have them around. Also, they’re all too lazy to learn a word of French or have the courses in the French language. Sure, there are a few French words and stuff to make it French enough but still, so fucking lazy these kids, IT’S FRANCE PEOPLE BE GRATEFUL!

That’s the thing about this book, I loved how situations made me angry but at the same time grateful that the author didn’t portrait them in a different way. No kid wants to be away from home and life and these kids make the best of it. I respect that.

Anna is a cinephile but barely. She’s surprised France has cinemas and when she goes she watches American movies. Can you be more American, Anna? Unfortunately she can. She is the most American an American can be in Paris and that is repeatedly mentioned throughout the story. And I liked it! That’s the way she was supposed to be and the author didn’t try to make her fit in or blend in at least. She was from start to finish as American as possible. And a classic teenager.

Enter all. the. boys.

The story kind of lost some of its appeal when the same cliche happened – and it kept on repeating itself. Anna likes a boy from back home and things are in the are we – aren’t we phase. Which is totally normal. Until she met Etienne St. Clair. And then every fucking thing is about Etienne. Which I also get. See? Realistic portrait that pissed me off and made me love it at the same time.

“French name, English accent, American school. Anna confused.”

Etienne is as French as Anna is American. Or British. He’s nationality is always a thing in this book. He also has a girlfriend that is conveniently MIA until she is needed as a plot devise or to make Etienne and Anna feel guilty for having feelings for each other. To be honest I’m not a fan of Etienne; teen guys are not usually the ones to stay in a relationship out of convenience and the whole cheating – not cheating thing + Meredith were a bit douchey.

“Why is it that the right people never wind up together? Why are people so afraid to leave a relationship, even if they know it’s a bad one?”

This book basically delivers the most amazing life and relationship quotes ever, I mean, thank you Stephanie Perkins, your words are simple and magical and complex and everything people and relationships are.

“I wish for the thing that is best for me.”

I could probably mention all the cliches in the book but I won’t. Because despite of them, I read this one in hours, barely a few hours. And I was left with a sweet feeling of content and nothing mattered after I read it. The hype was real and this book needs to be read. I don’t think that tropes and cliches were a thing in 2010 but I’m pretty sure this book was used as an example of how to write a Romance/YA book since then.

Kei

8 thoughts on “Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins

  1. How good is this book?! Anna and the French Kiss was the favourite out of this series. It made me want to move to France so bad, but then I ended up moving to London so it was okay lol.

    I didn’t like that St Clair just didn’t break up with his girlfriend, it was so frustrating watching him flirt with Anna yet still be attached. I really hated that about this plot, he clearly was only with his girlfriend so the plot could work.

    You’re right, I hated that Anna was so ungrateful to be in France! I mean it’s only a year of her life!! And a lot of people would love to have that opportunity.

    Jordon @ Simply Adrift

    Like

    • Oh I’ve always loved France so this only intensified that! Right? It could have gone straight to the good part but oh well, can’t have that now, can we?
      LOL, I’d be so giddy to be in France, romance would be the last thing on my mind (I would make a terrible YA romance book, huh) but yeah, there’s so many things to explore, she could have been a bit more into it!
      Thanks for stopping by ♥

      Like

  2. Great review! I remember thinking the same thing when I read this for the first time — that the hype is real! Etienne is seriously so freaking swoon worthy! I think I need to re-read this!!

    Like

  3. And here I thought I was officially the only person who had not read these (although now that you’ve read them, maybe I am!). All three books have been sitting on my shelf for *so long*. I really do want to read them but just keep putting other books ahead of them. Even with the tropes and cliches, I adore a good swoony YA contemporary so I’m excited to pick this one up. Enjoyed your review, Kei!

    Like

Talk to me...

