10 BOOKS SET OUTSIDE THE US

TTT

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature meme hosted by the Broke and the Bookish. Every week they post a new top ten list and everyone is welcome to join.

This week’s Top Ten Tuesday is very interesting to follow since it involves books that are not set in the US

BOOKSOUTSIDETHEUS

I recently read And I Darken and I loved the fact that it was set in two different countries out of the US – which was also one of the reasons I recommend you read it. The Bronze Horseman is set in Russia, in a particularly difficult time period to be exact. Daughter of Smoke & Bone is set in Prague and the descriptions are breathtaking.

The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo is set in Sweden. I read this pre-blogging after I saw the first movie in Swedish and OMG I loved this book so much!

The Martian is of course set on Mars. Angels & Demons is set in the Vatican City with equally beautiful descriptions. Harry Potter, well that doesn’t need any explaining, as well as Outlander. The Book Thief and Perfume are set in Germany and France.

Do you have any other book to recommend? We need more books outside of the US to read so please share ♥

Kei

12 thoughts on “10 BOOKS SET OUTSIDE THE US

  1. Great pics, Kei! I’m so bummed that I didn’t get a chance to do a TTT post this week. I was looking forward to picking some books with non-U.S. setting. But alas, ran out of time. I definitely would have used TBH and Outlander – two favorite books and two favorite settings. I hope I would have remembered The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo!

    Tanya @ GIRL PLUS BOOKS

    Like

  2. Haha I love that you even included a book set on Mars. I’ve actually read quite a few books set outside the US this year since I do enjoy reading books set in other countries. Have you read the Gardella Vampire Hunters series? I feel like those might be the kind of books that you like (though I’m not exactly sure what your taste is), and those are set in the London, Rome, and Prague.

    I just realized while looking at your post that I don’t think I’ve read any books set in Germany or Russia, and I know I haven’t read any set in Sweden, Turkey, or Romania.

    Like

    • Oh I do love vampire books, thanks for the rec!

      The Bronze Horseman made Russia one of my top to-visit places! I just loved the descriptions so much, same for Prague! Turkey and Romania were historical settings but still interesting. I love books outside of the US, I need more of them, it’s sad that most books are set in the US.

      Like

Talk to me...

