Bittersweet by Sarina Bowen

bittersweetTitle: Bittersweet (True North #1)
Author: Sarina Bowen
Genres: New Adult, Contemporary
Release Day: June 14th 2016
ARC kindly provided from the author in exchange for an honest review.
AMAZON US | AMAZON UK
add to goodreads

The new series is set in Vermont. True North is populated by the tough, outdoorsy mountain men that populate the Green Mountain State. They raise cows and they grow apples. They chop a lot of wood, especially when they need to blow off steam. (Beards are optional but encouraged.)

If you can’t stand the heat, get out of the orchard.

The last person Griffin Shipley expects to find stuck in a ditch on his Vermont country road is his ex-hookup. Five years ago they’d shared a couple of steamy nights together. But that was a lifetime ago.

At twenty-seven, Griff is now the accidental patriarch of his family farm. Even his enormous shoulders feel the strain of supporting his mother, three siblings and a dotty grandfather. He doesn’t have time for the sorority girl who’s shown up expecting to buy his harvest at half price.

Vermont was never in Audrey Kidder’s travel plans. Neither was Griff Shipley. But she needs a second chance with the restaurant conglomerate employing her. Okay—a fifth chance. And no self-righteous lumbersexual farmer will stand in her way.

They’re adversaries. They want entirely different things from life. Too bad their sexual chemistry is as hot as Audrey’s top secret enchilada sauce, and then some.

4 stars!

“She and I were a dangerous combination.”

Finally I managed to read a Sarina Bowen book! I’ve been meaning to read on of her books since I love her collaborations with Elle Kennedy, so I had to enjoy one of hers as well and I finally got around to do it!

Bittersweet was so good! I don’t know if this is an author thing or if it was just for this book but the attention to details she puts in her stories was mindblowing! Especially this one that had a lot of farming talk as well as some other occupations as our hero and heroine take us on a ride through their life and work. I just loved how things went really deep into the farming world and it felt so unique to read a book that got a little dirty. In more ways than one.

“The massiveness of his body was such a turn-on. He was an unyielding wall of a man. I just wanted to stay right here – literally pressed between a rock and a hard place. Forever.”

Griffin is… well, take a look at the cover. Yup. He’s really interesting. The story takes place in Vermont, personally I wouldn’t know a thing about it, but they, Griffin’s family included, grow apples and they have cows. A lots of machines that do stuff I found really fascinating. Griffin is a farmer, kinda grumpy but I would be too if I had to do all the stuff he does to be honest and he is a genuinely good guy which I loved. He is honest and very different from other heroes. Also, he has a beard. Oh, and there’s lots of wood chopping.

“This man would be the death of me. There was nothing he had that I didn’t want more of.”

Audrey is the city girl. She’s trying her hand at a lot of jobs – a lot of jobs – at her current job she is task with traveling around the country and offering to buy a number of farmed good at really, really, really low prices. Obviously when she runs into Griffin – whom she’s familiar with – things don’t go so well.

I have to admit I got really into the story during the second half. Both characters are introduced and then set up to meet and when they do there’s an awkward part in which they admit they’ve had sex before, while in college and of course they think about each other naked. On the spot. That did make me cringe a tiny bit, if we were given the back story before that I would get the connection but that was a bit off. The second half though really made up for any awkwardness between them at first.

“I hate goodbyes. If there was such a thing as goodbye-a-phobia, I definitely had a bad case.”

Overall, this was a great introduction to the story and the secondary characters make me so excited to wait for the next 2 books, plus Sarina Bowen creates this amazing world with such detail and so full of life, you just want to dive into the book!

Steadfast coming July 12th! PRE-ORDER ON AMAZON | ADD ON GR

Kei

3 thoughts on “Bittersweet by Sarina Bowen

Talk to me...

