Sparrow by L.J. Shen

sparrowTitle: Sparrow
Author: L.J. Shen
Genres: Romance, Dark
Release Day: March 8th 2016
ARC kindly provided from the author in exchange for an honest review.
AMAZON US | AMAZON UK
add to goodreads

Troy Brennan
Every Southie in Boston knows that name. The son of a dead mobster. The heart-throb with steel-blue eyes. “The Fixer” who can make or break you in this city.  Oh, and my new husband.
Sparrow Raynes
That’s me. No one seemed to remember my name up until he barged into my life.
But then he caged me. Kidnapped me. And killed every chance I had to run away from the place where we grew up. Put simply, Troy Brennan clipped my wings.
I have dreams, big ones, but I doubt he’ll ever let me chase them. I have no idea why he decided to take me as his wife. But I do know this: pissing off this man will not do me any good. At all.

4 stars!

“Is it possible to feel your heart breaking, even when you’re falling in love?”

Oh my book feels! I just finished Sparrow yesterday and it was so damn good!

The story is about Troy and Sparrow. Due to their family history, Troy and Sparrow were forced into an arranged marriage since they were kids, and when the time comes, Troy literally just announces to Sparrow that they’re getting married. Sparrow is having none of it but then again, this is the mafia and she’s not given a say in the matter.

“Fear is a prison, and in prison you played by different rules to survive.”

I’ve read a lot of mafia stories and a few featured an arranged marriage, but I have to say, I like the way the author handled this particular situation.

There’s a reason Troy agreed – or didn’t argue – when his father told him to get married with Sparrow and we are not told what that reason is until later in the story but he’s not too happy about it and he doesn’t hold back. Basically Sparrow is the anti insta and for that, I loved it.

“I’m saying that if I can’t eat it, fuck it or kill it I have no interest in it.”

You have to give credit to him for being straightforward and knowing what he wants, I really liked the way he was portrait as a hero, or anti hero in this case.

sparrow

Sparrow as a character, she’s fierce, she’s in an unfortunate situation but she makes the best of it. And Troy, well… he’s an asshole but he’s a solid character. He had a life before this marriage and he’s not willing to give that up especially for a wife that hates him, so this marriage is sort of on paper only. At first.

“We weren’t a real couple, and this wasn’t a love story.”

There’s a huge character development happening for the both of them and the writing is amazing, so fresh and witty when needed, plus, Troy knows how to make his wife blush and by extension the reader, because he was on fire when he wanted to be and Sparrow is easy at all, she’s awesome, so badass and so fierce, she’s putting him in his place and she enjoys it.

True, this contains cheating, but I don’t mind and especially when in situations like this, but every reader is different. I enjoyed this so much and I would gladly read another book about them, it’s definitely a book worth checking out!

Kei

Talk to me...

