Bound by Honor by Cora Reilly

boundbyhonorTitle: Bound by Honor (Born in Blood Mafia Chronicles #1)
Author:  Cora Reilly
Genres: Romance, New Adult
Release Day: December 14th 2014
AMAZON US | AMAZON UK
add to goodreads

Born into one of the leading Mob families in Chicago, Aria Scuderi struggles to find her own path in a world where no choices are given. Aria was only fifteen when her parents betrothed her to Luca – The Vice – Vitiello, the oldest son of the head of the New York Cosa Nostra to ensure peace between the two families.

Now at eighteen, the day Aria has been dreading for years is looming dangerously: her wedding to Luca. The only way to escape the marriage to Luca would be to run away and leave everything she’s ever known behind but Aria can’t bear the thought of never seeing her family again.

Despite her fear, she decides to go through with the marriage; Aria has grown up among predators like Luca and knows that even most cold-hearted bastards have a heart and she has every intention of working her way into Luca’s.

4 stars!

“The last few words of the oath that men swore when they were inducted into the mafia could just as well have been the closing of my wedding vow:

“I enter alive and I will have to get out dead.”

I’m in love. I saw this book on my feed Tuesday morning and I loved the blurb, it was literally love at first sight, so imagine my utter delight when I saw it was free on Amazon! It has everything! Mafia, arranged weddings (I’m a sucker for those!), brooding but totally hot hero, the heroine could use a bit more backbone but Luca…

Luca and Aria are being forced to marry to sort of create a union between their families against the Russian mob but the thing is, their families are not exactly in good terms. Chicago and New York don’t see eye to eye but they have a common enemy so they have to join forces. I liked the world build, it has something out of the 70s in the way the big bosses were thinking and using daughters as a bargaining chip, it definitely is not fair to the ladies of the story but I didn’t expected it to be. It’s a mafia book, somethings are bound to be old fashioned and outdated.

The characters made this an interesting read.

“The path stretching before us was one of darkness, a life of blood and death and danger, a future of always watching my back, of knowing every day could be Luca’s last, of fearing that one day I might have to watch him receive a lethal injection. But this was my world and Luca was my man, and I would go this path with him until the bitter end.”

Luca Vitiello is known as “The Vice” and he is the Capo. He is the son of the NY mob boss and to be honest, that element was a little weak, the story focuses on Luca and Aria mostly as they navigate their impending wedding and marriage and the mob. He is pretty badass and he really acts like a Capo even within the limited mafia scenery the book creates, what little we got showed his strong presence in the mob.

Aria Scuderi finds out when she’s 15 that when she turns 18 she will marry. Her asshole of a father would totally give her up at the age of 15, he’s probably the most hated man in the story. She tries to make the best out of the worst, she’s not hoping for love but at least she’ll get away from her father.

Aria and Luca have been informed of their arranged marriage and they are both not pleased, they meet a few times, and each one is cringe worthy, there was no insta love with this one, on the contrary and what I liked the most is that the book really didn’t rush them into it at all but when if finally happened… OMG! Things happened left and right, some very archaic traditions were held, Luca was not a good husband at first and Aria was a pushover at times but overall I loved it, it took me by surprise and those are the best reading experience. I did want Aria to have a little more backbone, she went all fierce at one point and then turned into a pushover the next, but again, she made the best she could out of a very complex situation.

“Then so be it. I’ll go where you go no matter how dark the path.”

For mafia lovers, this is an awesome read even if it could use a little more mafia stuff, no insta love and a lot of ups and downs, overall you will be pleasantly surprised!

Kei

2 thoughts on “Bound by Honor by Cora Reilly

  1. Awesome review, Kei! I love the sound of this one! I haven’t read a lot of Mafia-based books but I find them fascinating. I like that this one avoids the insta-love trope (ugh) and instead there’s actually a relationship built. Thanks for mentioning this was free on Amazon because I just went and one-clicked it! 🙂

    Tanya @ Girl Plus Books

    Like

Talk to me...

