Finding Gabriel by Rachel L. Demeter

findinggabriel
FINDING GABRIELTitle:
Finding Gabriel
Author: Rachel L. Demeter
Genres: Historical Romance
Publication Date: August 27, 2015
AMAZON US | AMAZON UK | BARNES & NOBLE |IBOOKS | GOOGLE PLAY | KOBO | MOMENTUM BOOKS
add to goodreads

Colonel Gabriel de Laurent departed for the war intending to die.

After a decade of bloodstained battlegrounds while fighting in Napoleon’s army, Gabriel returns to the streets of Paris a shattered and haunted soul. Plagued by inner demons, he swallows the barrel of his flintlock pistol and pulls the trigger.

But fate has a different plan.

Ariah Larochelle is a survivor. Orphaned at twelve and victim to a devastating crime, she has learned to keep her back to walls and to trust no one. But when she finds a gravely injured soldier washed up on the River Seine, she’s moved by compassion. In spite of her reservations, she rescues him from the icy water and brings him into her home.

Now scarred inside and out, Gabriel discovers a kindred spirit in Ariah—and feelings he imagined lost forever reawaken as he observes her strength in the face of adversity. But when Ariah’s own lethal secrets unfold, their new love is threatened by ancient ghosts. Can Gabriel and Ariah find hope in the wreckage of their pasts—or will the cycle of history repeat again?

Perfect for fans of Gaelen Foley’s Lord of Ice and Judith James’sBroken Wing, Finding Gabriel features all the dark romance, searing passion, and historical intrigue of The Phantom of the Opera and Les Misérables.

4 stars!

“There is no paradise on earth, but there are pieces of it. What there is on earth is a broken paradise.”

When I saw this book I didn’t know what to expect, I thought it would be a little different to be honest, a little more romantic and a little less shocking. That being said, I’m glad I got more that what I thought I’d get.

The book starts with a shocking event, the main characters, Colonel Gabriel is trying to kill himself and Ariah is the one to find him and despite the time period, she brings him into her house where she lives with her six year old daughter, and takes care of him.

I loved these two, OMG it was such a beautiful story, so well written and deep. The story took its time to build up a beautiful story, its raw and captivating. There was an even amount of romance and life, it had a nice balance and it really was well build, I can’t stress this enough.

“I won’t pretend that I deserve you. I am faithless. I have done unforgivable things. And I am broken.” He gestured to his face and body with trembling hands. “I know you see past these things when you look at me . . . but I hope I can be enough for you.”

I love historical novels, it’s a favorite genre of mine and I want it to be enjoyable but always accurate and Finding Gabriel was spot on! Plus it’s a mix between The Phantom of the Opera and Les Misérables, I mean…

abouttheauthor

Rachel L. Demeter lives in the beautiful hills of Anaheim, California with Teddy, her goofy lowland sheepdog, and her high school sweetheart of eleven years. She enjoys writing dark, poignant romances that challenge the reader’s emotions and explore the redeeming power of love.

Imagining dynamic worlds and characters has been Rachel’s passion for longer than she can remember. Before learning how to read or write, she would dictate stories while her mother would record them for her. She holds a special affinity for the tortured hero and unconventional romances. Whether crafting the protagonist or antagonist, she ensures every character is given a soul.

Rachel endeavors to defy conventions by blending elements of romance, suspense, and horror. Some themes her stories never stray too far from: forbidden romance, soul mates, the power of love to redeem, mend all wounds, and triumph over darkness.

Her dream is to move readers and leave an emotional impact through her words.

Social Media

WEBSITE | FACEBOOK | TWITTER | PINTEREST |

GOODREADS | NEWSLETTER | AMAZON

Tour organized by IndieSage PR

Kei

Advertisements

Talk to me...

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s