The Winter King by C.L. Wilson

thewhinterkingTitle: The Winter King (Weathermages of Mystral #1)
Author: C.L. Wilson
Genres: Romance, Fantasy
Release Day: July 29th 2014
AMAZON US | AMAZON UK

add to goodreads

After three long years of war, starkly handsome Wynter Atrialan will have his vengeance on Summerlea’s king by taking one of the man’s beautiful, beloved daughters as his bride. But though peace is finally at hand, Wynter’s battle with the Ice Heart, the dread power he embraced to avenge his brother’s death, rages on.

Khamsin Coruscate, Princess of Summerlea and summoner of Storms, has spent her life exiled to the shadows of her father’s palace. Reviled by her father, marriage to Wintercraig’s icy king was supposed to be a terrible punishment, but instead offers Kham her first taste of freedom—and her first taste of overwhelming passion.

As fierce, indomitable Wynter weathers even Khamsin’s wildest storms, surprising her with a tenderness she never expected, Kham wants more than Wynter’s passion—she yearns for his love. But the power of the Ice Heart is growing, dangerous forces are gathering, and a devastating betrayal puts Khamsin and Wynter to the ultimate test.

5 stars!

This is clearly a case of don’t judge a book by it’s cover. When I first saw the cover my mind thought, LOL next, but the reviews, and the blurb made me give it a chance since I was in the mood for Fantasy. I don’t read a lot of fantasy because I’m picky as hell and I don’t want to dislike books. I love books and I want to love every book I read but that obviously can’t happen. So, when I started this one, I thought, okay let’s see, maybe just maybe it won’t reflect the cover. Oh boy, was I right or what! I loved this! I absolutely loved it and I read it in one freaking day; this is a huge book we’re talking about and it actually takes its time and it guides you through it so beautiful, I felt like I was traveling.

Khamsin Coruscate, Princess of Summerlea and summoner of Storms lives like a prisoner in her own house umm castle. Her father hates her because she was the last daughter her mother had and then passed away. Her entire life, she’s lived like a servant and endured her father’s verbal and physical abuse. Khamsin and her three sisters have powers and they are named after each season.

“Displease the Winter King and we’ll none of us see another spring.”

The Winter King is set to arrive in Summerlea for negotiations and the Summerlean King is not happy about it but also very much terrified of his wrath. The two kings strike a deal and well…

“Your father thought he scored a victory over me when he tricked me into marrying you instead of one of your sisters, but he unwittingly gave me the one daughter I wanted most.”

I mean OMG! I wish I could fangirl properly and spoil the book but I won’t, just OMG these two! Khaamsin feels rejected and responsible for her mother’s death and Wynter is cold, he was betrayed by his fiancee and he has to battle with the Ice Heart, very dangerous powers he possesses, he doesn’t let anyone in. Also, I was totally picturing this in my head the entire time…

tumblr_static_thor_looking_dramatic_in_black_and_white_with_snow1

tumblr_m3tqrd9qvy1rv11exo3_500

I loved how the author allowed them to slowly open up to one another, it was an arranged marriage gone wrong but still it developed into something so beautiful.

“I love you more than the sunrise. More than laughter. More than song. I love you more than skating on a frozen pond on a clear winter day or soaking in the hot springs of Mount Freika. I love you more than any man in the history of Mystral ever loved a woman. I love you more than I love making love to you – well, no, wait… that’s a tie.”

The story is so deep and detailed, I could write a review book but I won’t spoil, just note that it took me a month to get over my hangover and put words in order and my thoughts. What a book! OMG this was unlike anything. I’m usually very hesitant towards this kind of books because I want them to be just right, and The Winter King was perfect; historical done right, romance was left to build up slowly and get to know the characters, court drama was so good and of course the paranormal aspect was mind-blowing.

Hands down this is a book worth losing sleep over ♥

Kei

6 thoughts on “The Winter King by C.L. Wilson

  1. So I’m with you… I would have seen the book cover, rolled my eyes, and moved right along. (Makes you wonder how many great books we miss this way!) I’m so glad to hear the story outshines the cover! This one sounds so good. I love that there’s a paranormal aspect. I’ll be looking into this one.

    Tanya @ Girl Plus Books

    Liked by 1 person

Talk to me...

