Confess by Colleen Hoover

confess (1)Title: Confess
Author: Colleen Hoover
Genres: New Adult, Romance  
Release Day: March 10th 2015
AMAZON US | AMAZON UK
add to goodreads

Auburn Reed has her entire life mapped out. But when she walks into a Dallas art studio in search of a job, she doesn’t expect to find a deep attraction to the enigmatic artist who works there, Owen Gentry.

For once, Auburn takes a risk and puts her heart in control, only to discover Owen is keeping major secrets from coming out.
The last thing Owen wants is to lose Auburn, but he can’t seem to convince her that truth is sometimes as subjective as art. All he would have to do to save their relationship is confess. But in this case, the confession could be much more destructive than the actual sin…

3 stars!

Well… I confess that I can’t connect with the characters in CoHo’s books.

First book we buddy read with Helena

This is my 4th CoHo book and I’m not thrilled; there’s something so beautiful about her writing style that makes me come back for more even though I don’t enjoy her books as much as the hype is drooling all over them. In this one I found the story to be full of the tropes and it was kind of disappointing. It did however feature something unique like most CoHo books, the art that was created around real life confessions from the author’s fans.

#confessyourtruth

A post shared by ConfessYourTruth (@confessyourtruth) on

Confess is a story about Owen – who by the way has a cat named Owen too – Mason Gentry (OMG is what Auburn calls him to make fun of his initials) and Auburn Mason Reed (Yes, same middle name. It’s fate.) and how they connect through his admittedly fascinating art idea. OMG is an artist, he takes people’s anonymous confessions and paints something based on it which was so fascinating to read and let me tell you some of those confession, OMG!

But that’s the fascinating aspect of the story. The romance? Not so much.

Insta-love is here.

The characters meet when Auburn responds to a job ad and they spend the day preparing for his art gallery show. A day. At the end of that day and after Owen repeatedly talks about how awful his ex girlfriend was – really? – they part ways in a sort of dramatic way like they’ve spend a lifetime together. After that there’s a time jump and when they meet again, BAM. They roughly spend a week together and that was disappointing.

Throughout the book there were a lot of over hyped feelings –  the insta love that was barely there and a huge secret reveal from both sides. The book had a lot of amazing quotes though, which I always enjoy, CoHo puts the most complex things into words so beautifully.

“How can a fifteen-year old girl defend her love when that love is dismissed by everyone? It’s impossible to defend yourself against inexperience and age. And maybe they’re right. Maybe we don’t know love like an adult knows love, but we sure as hell feel it.”

I loved Auburn’s roommate Emory; just like with Ugly Love, CoHo has some pretty amazing secondary characters that I just want to read more about! Emory was the opposite of Auburn and I loved her! Still waiting for a book about Tate’s brother, Corbin!

Auburn and Owen have their individual life drama; Auburn is a doormat, I didn’t connect to her at all from the start and as the story progressed she became less likable and just really in need of saving, not just from the hero but everyone around her, she let people dictate her life until the last possible moment. True damsel in distress. Owen on the other hand was good; he had some questionable moments but he was quirky and his art made the story so fascinating, it would have been better if we had been given more art less drama.

There’s a secondary romance shown from flash backs that was way more captivating and sweet than this one.

“I love you so much.” His voice is breathless and full of fear. “I’ll love you forever. Even when I can’t.” My tears fall harder at his words. “And I’ll love you forever. Even when I shouldn’t.”

CoHo fans will love it, I enjoyed her writing and the unique CoHo touch but I didn’t feel the romance at all, Maybe Someday remains by favorite books of hers.

Kei

2 thoughts on “Confess by Colleen Hoover

  1. Sorry to hear this one didn’t work for you, Kei. I think this was actually my first (or second?) 5 star year of 2015. I tend to give 5 stars sparingly but I truly loved this one. Too bad you didn’t like it more but luckily there’s something out there for everyone. 🙂

    Tanya @ Girl Plus Books

    Like

Talk to me...

