Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon

everything, everythingTitle: Everything, Everything
Author: Nicola Yoon
Genres: Young Adult, Contemporary Romance
Release Day: September 1st 2015
ARC kindly provided via Netgalley, in exchange for an honest review.
AMAZON US | AMAZON UK | B&N
add to goodreads

My disease is as rare as it is famous. Basically, I’m allergic to the world. I don’t leave my house, have not left my house in seventeen years. The only people I ever see are my mom and my nurse, Carla. But then one day, a moving truck arrives next door. I look out my window, and I see him. His name is Olly. Maybe we can’t predict the future, but we can predict some things. For example, I am certainly going to fall in love with Olly. It’s almost certainly going to be a disaster.

3 woah stars! 

“Spoiler alert: Love is worth everything. Everything.”

This book is certainly memorable! Yoon’s debut novel features Madeline, the bubble girl. Madeline is allergic to EVERYTHING. She’s lived in a bubble (her decontaminated bedroom/house) her entire life and only comes to contact with her mother; the doctor, and her nurse, Carla, to protect her from the outside world that could kill her, everything Madeline comes into contact with is decontaminated, even her books. She likes to spoil books that one by the way.

EverythingEverythingquote

When I first read the blurb I got so excited! I definitely wanted to read about two teens who couldn’t come into contact at all. I was curious to see how on earth were they – and the author – going to make that work.

The book has an interest new way of writing, lots of graphics (lots!) and pictures, and of course messages back and forth which can be distracting at time but they fit nicely with the story and also I have to mention the cover and all the little details in it, do yourselves a favor and zoom in, IT’S AWESOME! I love the attention to detail so much ♥

As soon as Olly moves next door, the romance begins, in a sort of insta way but I understand that part, Madeline is living in her own little universe so of course the boy next door will be immediately on her radar. That’s where everything starts basically. Madeline and Olly use every technological way available to communicate, because how else will they communicate, it starts with written messages to emails and so on. It was cute and it was fresh to see them apart but together in a way. And even more so when they finally get together.

“It’s a hard concept to hold on to–the idea that there was a time before us. A time before time. In the beginning there was nothing. And then there was everything.”

There were a lot of good quotes in this book and almost every single one had the word everything in it which okay I get it but really? A lot of things happen in the book that made me question it, little plot wholes around Madeline’s illness which I found fascinating to begin with but towards the end it was lacking the “strict” way of life she spend so much time describing in the beginning.

After finishing the book I was in a state of shock, I could not believe the ending! THAT. ENDING. A twist that will make or break the story for readers. Was not what I had in mind when I started it and I had to let it sink in for days, I still think about it and I get mad. I love a good plot twist but it has to be supported by the story and it has to feel like everything is clicking together in the most bizarre way, this ending felt like a let down. To say I still have mixed feelings about it would be an understatement but it’s still a book worth reading for the experience it provides and the feels, plus it has been optioned for a movie already and I can tell you it will make an interesting one!

Kei

Talk to me...

