The Deal by Elle Kennedy

TheDeal

5 OMG stars!

This was AMAZING! Elle Kennedy, let me hug you! I love it when books surprise me like this one did; I told myself I’d just read the first chapter and see if I can get into it, next thing I know I’m flying through the pages while keeping an eye on the page count, I wanted to devour it but at the same time I wanted it to last for days, months! I LOVED IT OMG I’M SO EXCITED! THIS IS HOW YOU DO IT THIS IS HOW YOU WRITE A GOOD STORY WITH NO CLICHES AND IT WAS FUCKING AMAZING OMG!

When you read the blurb for The Deal, you think, okay I can see where this is going, I know I did but think again this book thedealwas a breath of fresh air, it had all the elements expected; Garrett Graham is the popular hockey player, he’s a player, he’s the captain and he comes from a professional background, he’s used to getting his way, Hannah is somewhat geeky and sarcastic she’s shy and the opposite of Garrett.

The way the story was written and the depth of it and the character development, AMAZING! This is the perfect example of good writing with been-done-before material presented in such a way that you can’t help but love it! Good writing with a fresh perspective and dual POV which was awesome to have, I actually felt like a part of their gang, they were so easily lovable and I connected with them from the first page it was love at first sight for me, plus Garrett is officially going on my book boyfriend list ♥

Hannah has a painful story but determined she has put it behind her and she’s enjoying college life as much as possible, she even has a new crush, he barely acknowledges her though. Garrett’s life revolves around hockey, but he won’t be doing that if he fails his exam. In need of Hannah’s tutoring he thinks he can just charm her into tutoring him, Hannah has none of it.

“For the love of God, I’m not tutoring you.”
“Sure you are.” I shrug. “I just need to figure out what you want in return.”
“I want to not tutor you. That’s what I want.”

I love her, I just  l o v e  her.

THEDEAL

Garrett’s famous background soon will make her change her mind about tutoring  him and maybe go on a fake date with him if it means that her crush will finally notice her. I just loved Hannah and Garrett together, they were so beyond adorable and Hannah was sassy and Garrett was an amazing combination of laid back and dirty tease, I just loved them together, it felt like I was there with them hanging out, studying, watching Breaking Bad (YES!), talking and just being normal college kids that didn’t involve a ton of drama, it was amazing I can’t stress this enough!

“Just out of curiosity,” she says, “after you wake up in the morning, do you admire yourself in the mirror for one hour or two?”
“Two,” I reply cheerfully.
“Do you high five yourself?”
“Of course not.” I smirk. “I kiss each of my biceps and then point to the ceiling and thank the big man upstairs for creating such a perfect male specimen.”

garretthannahtextThis was a slow build romance, like  s l o w, but it has the best build up to them becoming a couple, it truly is a friends-to-couple romance, they start from scratch and it’s effortless, it’s so freaking effortless I loved it, it just happened, they go from using one another to get their deal to becoming that person they just want to hang out with just because they have so much fun together it’s unreal. It doesn’t have an insta-love, for the record, at all.

“It breaks my fucking heart to hear you cry.”
“I’m broken.”
“You’re not broken, baby. I promise.”

Garrett oh Garrett, he’s swoon-worthy, a little cocky, just the perfect amount of I’m sexy and I know it but also a good guy from the start, he has this no bullshit thing about him, what you see is what you get and what you get is pretty damn good!

“I never expected her. Sometimes people sneak up on you and suddenly you don’t know you ever lived without them.”

Swoon people!

Plus the slow build of the sexy times? I cannot stress this enough after reading this I felt like I watch a whole season of this epic series that had the perfect timing of pretty much everything. The book took it’s time, to get to meet them individually, together, with friends, with family, with other people, it was just OMG READ THE BOOK PEOPLE!

What you think is just another college read popular guy meets unpopular girl sparks fly eventually turned out to be EPIC and I’m still not over the book hangover, I’m seriously contemplating 6 freaking stars here, that good! I can’t wait to start the next but I’m afraid, sequels usually aren’t as good as the first one and I don’t know if I want it to be better, this was so freaking good I want to crawl into the book ♥

PURCHASE LINKS

AMAZON US | AMAZON UK

Kei

Talk to me...

