That’s what HE said Thursday [4]

TWHS

That’s what he said is my newest meme hosted by chapterbreak.net! Every Thursday we post a favorite line from our book boyfriend to his heroine.

This week’s book boyfriend is from my favorite standalone, Making Faces by Amy Harmon, Ambrose Young. The book is simply beautiful and heartbreaking, Ambrose is really something else – again, I’m unable to choose just one or a couple of quotes so you’ll have to deal with a looooong list. (I really really love this meme!)

“I wrote your name across my heart so we could be together, so I could hold you close to me and keep you there forever.”

“I want your body. I want your mouth. I want your red hair in my hands. I want your laugh and your funny faces.
I want your friendship and your inspirational thoughts. I want Shakespeare and Amber Rose novels and your memories of Bailey. And I want you to come with me when I go.”

“How did you know I needed you?” Fern whispered in broken tones.

“Because I needed you,” Ambrose confessed without artifice, his voice thick with heartache.”

“News flash, Fern Taylor!” Ambrose barked, slamming his hand against the dashboard, making Fern jump.
“Everything has changed! You are beautiful, I am hideous, you don’t need me anymore, but I sure as hell need you!”

“Do you think about how I look when you kiss me?”
“Yes.” His voice was raspy. “I think about your long red hair and you sweet mouth, and the way you little body feels when its pressed up against me, and I just want to put my hands on you. Everywhere. And I forget that I am ugly and alone and confused as hell.”

“But maybe you see beauty in me because you are beautiful, not because I am.”

“I love you Fern. And I want you to marry me.”

“You do?” Fern squealed.

“I do. It doesn’t get better than Fern Taylor.”

“It doesn’t?” Fern squeaked.

“It doesn’t.” Ambrose couldn’t help laughing at her incredulous little face. “And if you’ll have me, I will spend the rest of my life trying to make you happy, and when you get tired of looking at me, I promise I’ll sing.” Fern laughed, a watery, hiccuping.

And of course some eye candy!

"How did you know I needed you?" "Because I needed you too."

“How did you know I needed you?”
“Because I needed you too.”

Kei

8 thoughts on “That’s what HE said Thursday [4]

  1. This sounds great. That fact that this is the next book you really loved after The Bronze Horseman, made me decide to get this book… now if I can just find the time read it.

    Like

    • Oh I adore The Bronze Horseman but when it comes to standalones this book this by far my favorite. It made me cry like a baby and even though it was a little heavy on the religious stuff than I’d like to read about it still touched me so much – unforgettable, really!

      Like

  2. Um, wow. I need to meet Ambrose! Those quotes are fantastic and so, so sweet. Damn, I already fell in love with him. Thanks so much for sharing! ♥

    Like

Talk to me...

