Precarious by Bella Jewel

precariousbellajewel

4 what-the-hell-was-that stars!

I have to say, this book surprised me. The thing that made me pick it up in the first place was the blurb. How often do you read about a female prison guard. It’s rare and original so much it scared me. I wanted it to be a good read. I wanted it to deliver the genuine story the blurb summarizes and Bella Jewel delivered. She even made me change my mind about her book and I actually read another one of hers and re-read one of the old ones I had given a low rating, that’s how much this book changed my mind.

Well done, Bella. Bravo!

Now, the story…

Ash is, admittedly a kick-ass prison guard that was at the wrong place at the right time. She’s that kind of girl; she’s different. A fulfilling, dangerous of course, job, crazy roommates that may be secretly doing each other and I can’t wait for their book.

precarious

Beau is a member of a MC that got arrested. His allegedly crime isn’t really the point and I don’t want to give too much away but he has an equal amount of enemies in and out of prison. That’s where Ash comes in. Saving him from the beating of his life, their story hasn’t even begun. Speculating that something is wrong with her fellow prison guards, Ash keeps her eyes open. Beau – or Krypt – is constantly fighting off his enemies and the time comes for him to be transferred to a high security prison, with Ash in charge of the operation.

What Jax said!

Ambushed by a rival club in an attempt to kill him, Beau’s club comes to the rescue and along with him, they take Ash too.

I do have to say that, the book kept surprising me with all the twists I didn’t see coming. What I thought would be a usual  fall for my captor story turned out to be a pretty descent read. Ash doesn’t take any bullshit from him or the club.

“I hear you’re feisty,” he murmurs, letting his gaze travel down my body. “I like them like that.”
I shiver. Oh boy. I straighten and uncross my arms. “Good for you. I like mine outside a cell.”

To say that the relationship between the two is explosive would be an understatement and of course at the end of the book the twist that I did not see coming made me like it all that much and add a star.  Usually, bikers and other characters are very possessive of their SOs and they go a little on the dramatic side to make a point. Krypt on the other hand is okay with what other characters are not. I don’t want to give too much away because I really was surprised by how much I liked the sex scene at the end and how original and refreshing it was.

Overall this book restored my lost desire to read more of Bella’s books and if you’re a fan, then what are you waiting for?

PURCHASE LINKS

AMAZON US | B&N

Kei

Talk to me...

