Better When He’s Bad by Jay Crownover

Better When He's Bad

4 star-tattoo-on-his-face stars!

It’s no secret that I love Jay Crownover’s Marked Men series. She has a unique way of writing that pulls you in and beautifully developed characters.

This book’s awesomeness was guaranteed.

And it delivered.

Shane Baxter is a boy who’s bad.

Truth be told I had high hopes for this book because after four books by JC, I’m pretty sure I know what to expect from her; this story got me hooked from the first page and I couldn’t put it down till the last one.

Shane Baxter – or Bax as everyone calls him – is fresh out of prison and yet he still manages to get himself into trouble. He’s like a magnet that man, attracting all kinds of trouble with the least minimum effort. Which was refreshing for once to have a male character that got into trouble instead of a female.

Dovie on the other hand is the quiet type and she mostly kept to herself. Her big brother on the other hand is kind of like Bax, and he, too, attracts all kinds of trouble.

Dovie and Bax have one thing in common. Race. Dovie’s brother and Bax’s best friend. Aka the person that got him arrested.

From the first chapter the story starts with such a twisted and complected yet fascinating to read, back story.

Bax is out and he wants answers from his best friend but he is gone. Leaving his sister behind to fend for herself and fight off those who come looking for him.

What I absolutely loved about this story was the dislike between Bax and Dovie. Bax didn’t like her – at all – and he didn’t even hold back.

She wasn’t my type. I liked girls who played on the same field as me, girls who knew enough not to ask if I was coming back or bothered with being on a first-name basis. Not to mention, all that pale skin and orange hair wasn’t my thing.

And yet, while reading the book and focusing on the plot, those two kind of snuck up on me. Their relationship had such a great development that I have only read a handful of those this year. Two characters that are so different and yet so alike you want it and you hope for it – even though you know it’s gonna happen – and they still surprise you with how beautifully they develop a bond.

“Did you miss me at all this week, Bax? Did you roll over and reach for me at night? Did you wake up and wonder why you were alone?”

“Do you want the truth, or do you want me to lie to you?”

“Lie to me.” I whispered it and he yanked me against his chest and buried his nose in the top of my head.

“Not one time. I didn’t think about you one single time this entire week. Is that what you want me to say? Will that make you realize this isn’t what you want and most definitely not what you need?”

Definitely worth a read if you are a fan of JC’s and if you like guys who aren’t bad boys…  just bad.

PURCHASE LINKS

AMAZON US | AMAZON UK | B&N

Kei

Talk to me...

