Monster in His Eyes by J.M. Darhower

ARC kindly provided by the author in exchange for an honest review.

MIHE

5 solid stars!

Jessica Darhower has done it again! When it comes to mafia books, she’s the first author that pops into my mind. Apart from the Forever series – which is hands down the BEST mafia books I’ve read so far – Monster in His Eyes was equally breathtaking; her writing is so alive and addictive it is impossible not to get hooked from the start. I simply devoured it.

The book is the first one of the series and it is about Naz and Karissa.

“You can call me Naz, if you prefer,” he says.

“Naz.”  The name sounds weird on my tongue. “I’ve never met a Naz before.”

“I like to think I’m one of a kind.”

Karissa, is a nineteen year old student that her whole life has been a huge road trip. Her mom being paranoid about people following her and how dangerous the world is, is constantly on the move, dragging her young daughter with her. Until Karissa moves to NY and her life begins.

Naz aka Ignazio is – what is clear from the start to anyone that wants to see it – in the mafia. Although his position doesn’t get confirmed or his rank, he is a man that his name alone scares the life out of people.

But with her, he is a whole different man.

MonsterInHisEyes

Although the book has some cliche situations at the beginning it is barely noticeable as the writing combined with the plot and the development happen so smoothly before you realize it, you’re half way through and the book is glued to your hands. Throughout the book, Karissa is oblivious to the fact that her boyfriend is in the mafia.

MIHE

And Naz is doing the classic not-telling-the-whole-truth-doesn’t-mean-I’m-lying thing.

Naz

“The pieces were all there from the beginning, every single one of them. Just because you refused to put them together, to look at the big picture, doesn’t mean you didn’t know what it was. I told you I wasn’t a good man. I told you I never would be. That’s reality, sweetheart, and you still asked me to stay.”

Despite the fast romance this story was captivating from the start with what I found to be a fascinating twist how there was barely any details about the mafia part of the story and yet somehow it was always there. Hidden meanings behind Naz’s words, mysterious scenes that made it quite obvious as to who he was exactly. Kudos to the author for constructing the plot in a way that left no doubt all the while being told from the heroine’s POV who refused to acknowledge what was right in front of her!

And then the story unfolds. Karissa’s family. Naz’s past. The mafia. Their love story in the middle of it all.

Maybe the stories got it wrong, I think.

Maybe Cinderella didn’t live happily ever after.

Maybe, come midnight, she wanted to run away.

Maybe her prince wouldn’t let her.

Mine didn’t.

Won’t spoil anything but I devoured it and I’m impatiently waiting for the second book!

PURCHASE LINKS

AMAZON US | AMAZON UK | B&N

Kei

Talk to me...

