Reasonable Doubt by Whitney Gracia Williams

reasonable doubt

5 what-did-I-just-read stars!

Reasonable Doubt wasn’t even on my TBR list. Actually not even on my radar and yet OMG what did I just read?!

First things first. This is a cliffhanger – A MAJOR ONE AT THAT – and it’s the first part of a three-part series.

After the The King by J.R. Ward – working on the one -, I was kind of in what was about to become a huge bookhangover – I just recovered from another one! – when this one went on sale and I thought, why not, it’s a short story, everyone is left with the same what did I just read feeling and I jumped to it.

And I’m so glad I did!

My rules are simple: One dinner. One night. No repeats.

This is only casual sex. Nothing more. Nothing less.

Andrew (aka Thoreau) is a broken Alpha. And as much as I don’t like using the word Alpha if it doesn’t describe a book character to a T, Andrew is really an Alpha male. Simple as that!

RD

He doesn’t date. He doesn’t do repeats. He doesn’t do relationships or on the side fuck buddies. Just one night. That’s all he is willing to give.

Oh did I mention he’s a dirty talker? Oh you have no idea!

Of course a guy like makes you wonder; a woman really did a number on you didn’t she. Oh well, behind every asshole there’s a woman. That part is the WTF moment in the book.

From the beginning Andrew is the distant guy that doesn’t change his habits. He actually doesn’t have any friends at all.

Apart from one.

Alyssa.

They met on an online lawyer chat-room and between the two of them there is absolute secrecy.

No pictures, no descriptions, no nothing.

“What do you look like?”

“I look like a man who wants to fuck you.”

 

That was actually refreshing.

Alyssa refuses – every time – to meet him and casually screw him.

He’s a love them and leave them kinda guy and she knows that from the countless conversations – surprisingly most of them about lawyer-y things.

But of course, there comes a time when they meet.

But they have never seen one another.

Ever.

See where I’m going with this?

Shock. Shock. Shock.

Andrew hates lies – even though he is a lawyer and Alyssa has lied about a lot of things. Her age included. As much as she wants to become a lawyer, she has a soft spot for ballet, something that her mom won’t condone.

Of course, she is vague about everything, which is why Andrew is shocked when he meets her for the first time. As an intern.

Now, I have to say, for someone that has kept a lot of secrets himself , he was hurt when he found out that yet another person has lied to him.

And then, when the story is about to end, we discover his lie as well.

Basically.

A well written, fast-paced story that hooks you in and shocks you with a well placed cliffhanger. If you like short stories and cliffhangers – the second one will be out in a few weeks I think – then read it.

I cannot wait for the second part!

PURCHASE LINKS

AMAZON US | AMAZON UK | B&N

Kei

2 thoughts on “Reasonable Doubt by Whitney Gracia Williams

Talk to me...

