The Golden Dynasty by Kristen Ashley

The Golden Dynasty by Kristen Ashley

5 golden stars!

I’ve been trying to write a proper review for this book since I could form a proper sentence after I finished it. And yet no matter what I say I don’t think it will do the book justice.

First things first.

I’m not a Kristen Ashley fan. In fact, I find her books to be very bad and borderline unbearable. No matter how many times I’ve started one of her books, I couldn’t bring myself to finish it.

That being said. This book. I LOVED IT. I simply loved it, I love every word and every sentence. I love it.

Her Fantasyland series may be the one think I’ll ever be able to read from her, but OMG I love it.

The first book was amazing, and even though I did not have any expectations at all (I’m really not a fan) it was amazing!

But this one. ADORED IT.

Maybe KA is a really big fan of Game of Throes( I won’t blame her for that, I’ll hug her for it) but reading The Golden Dynasty I couldn’t help but picture these two lovely characters. The descriptions were painting them in my mind and even though the similarities might have been over the top, I loved it for it.

Circe

You fit the description of the Golden Goddess exactly. Golden hair, golden eyes and now, with your time in the sun, golden skin.

Dax Lahn

Standing at one side and up toward the edge of the dais looking down was a giant of a man. A beast of a man. Taller than any of the extremely tall warriors on the sides of the parade, broader, more muscled, more savage. He was looking down the dais not at the parade but at a man in robes who was gesturing up to him.

Circe Quinn goes to sleep at home in Seattle and wakes up in Suh Tunak, The Horde of the nation of Korwahk. A parallel universe and a wholly different world from hers. She couldn’t have picked a worse time since she happen to wake up as The Wife Hunt in the parallel universe started.

The Wife Hunt was a ritual practices by the Korwahk people in order for their warriors to find wives.  The Wife Hunt is just as horrifying as it sounds. Woman, gathered from all around their world are forced to run for their freedom as the Korwahk warriors chase them through the forest, even killing fellow warriors if they claim their preferred choice before them.

See, totally horrifying and pretty amazing.

Dax Lahn is the King of Suh Tunak and Circe’s new mate.

He is a savage, he is brutal and at times his behavior might seem extreme but he is after all from a parallel universe that not only condones this kind of behavior but looks up to it as well. King, remember?

Circe and Lahn have very little in common. In fact they don’t even speak the same language as she needs a translator almost half way through the story to communicate with her new husband.

The brilliance of this book is in the details.

KA has done a remarkable job when it comes to shaping a total new world for her characters. She even has made-up new words and sentences  – and that, is brilliant!

The story sucks you in and it transports you to this new and magical place.

Circe is a girl that is thrown into the unknown and makes the best of it.

I gave up a world for you.

And Lahn is a savage, he is trying to balance his rough side as the warrior king and his sweet side as Circe’s husband. His love for her is fierce and possessive and beyond words.

I could not dream a better you. A better wife, a better queen. Not even in a dream could I create better than you.

Absolutely loved it, my newest desert island keeper!

PURCHASE LINKS

AMAZON US | AMAZON UK | B&N

Kei

2 thoughts on “The Golden Dynasty by Kristen Ashley

  1. Fabulous review – I struggled to read this book because of what happens at the beginning (yikes!!) but I kept with it and, boy, what a beautiful story it turned out to be! So emotional! Definitely a favourite for me! Thanks for sharing your thoughts 🙂

    Like

Talk to me...

