The Fault in Our Stars by John Green

4stars

4 okay stars!

I was proud of myself for being spoiler free. Yes, I knew that it was a cancer book and that alone made me avoid it at all costs. I don’t know what happened two nights ago but I thought, now is the time to read it. And I don’t worry about giving away spoilers because by now I think I’m the only person on the planet that had yet to read it.

That’s the thing about this book, it’s a matter of when you read it. Are you emotionally ready to read it? If not it will seem a little over the top, a little too much – and it is at times; it is too much. If you are ready, then you will probably cry your heart out. I was ready, but I didn’t cry – as much as I see everyone else crying. I have cried a hell of a lot more with other books – yes it is possible. I won’t say why you should read it, or what I liked about it, because it doesn’t matter. It is that kind of book that affects individuals on very different levels. It is not just any other cancer book, that is for sure.

The thing is that, even though I get how smart/clever/wise beyond their years the characters are, from the beginning it felt a little off. Hence the 4 stars. I have watched John Green and his many many vlogs, so the entire time I read this I thought I was listening to John Green on one of his vlogs. Not necessarily a bad thing. Or a good thing. This book is John Green. John Green is Hazel, John Green is Gus, John Green most definitely is Peter, he is everything, and not in an author-too-emotionally-involved but he literally is his creations. That’s the feeling I got from reading it.

John Green’s words, the way he talks, the way he explains stuff, everything.

Hazel and Gus were lovely and their story was heartfelt and sad and so precious at the same time. But I never got the feeling that they were just kids who were a bit clever and wiser than other kids.

Teenagers who mock other teenagers for being teenagers because they can’t or even don’t want to be teenagers. That’s the feeling I got. Yes, some teenagers worry about their toes and if one is bigger than the rest, of what the hell are they suppose to say to their boyfriend/girlfriend in the off chance that one looses an eye or two. That’s why they are being called teenagers. Because they have yet to feel the pain and the loss that comes with adulthood. They have yet to experience all those life changing moments that make adults smarter and wiser. And teenagers all over the planet shouldn’t have to feel bad because they worry over mundane things like shoes or toes.

I wasn’t even going to mention my one and big dislike about this book because when it comes to cancer books people usually tend to overlook everything else, but this book is not that kind of book, this book demands to make you deal with it, and it poses a lot of solid points and a lot of food for thought – by teenagers – so I thought, no, I’m not going to bypass my one big dislike, I will write it down, because that’s what this book taught me, no matter how insignificant something is, if it matters to you, don’t shut up.

Don’t get me wrong, I loved the story and I would have loved it with 5 stars if I didn’t have to remind myself that the narrator was a sixteen year old girl.

PURCHASE LINKS

AMAZON US | AMAZON UK | B&N

Kei

Talk to me...

