The Bronze Horseman by Paullina Simons

TheBronzeHorseman

6 heartfelt stars! 

Now, normally goodreads has a 5 star rating system but there are those books that go above and beyond that. This is one of them! Or maybe more than 6 stars… Epic doesn’t even begin to cover it. I. LOOOOOOVED. IT. I LOVED EVERY SINGLE PAGE OF IT!!!!!

Why did I wait so long to start this, why?! The most beautiful love story ever written, beautiful in every level!

Just as Hitler’s army attacks Russia, a love story blossoms in Leningrad.

bronzehorsemanquote

 Tatiana & Alexander

Their love is doomed from the very first sight but yet somehow as everybody around them die, they remain alive, fighting for the right to love and survive within a battlefield.

A day before she turns seventeen, Tatiana meets young Red Army officer, Alexander Belov.

“Love is, to be loved,” said Alexander, “in return.”

“Love is, to be loved,” said Alexander, “in return.”

When Tatiana looked up from her ice cream, she saw a soldier staring at her from across the street.

Unbeknownst to her, she is not the only family member that Alexander has charmed. As her older sister Dasha,
claims him as hers in front of the family, Tatia is trying to bury her feelings for him before they even have the chance to express themselves.

Love is overcome by hunger and the need to survive yet another day of endless bombing and family tension. Protecting Tatiana is Alexander’s number one priority, even if she told him not to break her sister’s heart.

But war is war and soon, Tatiana is left alone, having lost her family, one by one, she finds refuge in Lazarevo.

“Tania, I was spellbound by you from the first moment I saw you. There I was, living my dissolute life, and war had just started. My entire base was in disarray, people were running around, closing accounts, taking money out, grabbing food out of stores, buying up the entire Gostiny Dvor, volunteering for the army, sending their kids to camp—” He broke off. “And in the middle of my chaos, there was you!” Alexander whispered passionately. “You were sitting alone on this bench, impossibly young, breathtakingly blonde and lovely, and you were eating ice cream with such abandon, such pleasure, such mystical delight that I could not believe my eyes. As if there were nothing else in the world on that summer Sunday.”

Being in Lazarevo, finally together after all the things that they went through, that is the moment I waited for from the beginning of the story. Finally free, able to express their love for one another it was just epic, the cuteness was off the charts; the calm before the storm.

During the entire book I was crying, sobbing like a child in my pillow while my heart broke over and over and over again.

I was afraid to start this one because I knew the heartache would be unavoidable and even if it hurts like a bitch, it left me full of emotions and experiences. I truly feel like I was there with then as the traveled through Russia with bombs exploding around them, trying to find one another again. 

An amazing, epic love story that everyone should read.

PURCHASE LINKS

AMAZON US | AMAZON UK | B&N

Kei

Talk to me...

