Extinguish by J.M. Darhower

extinguish

 5 magnificent stars! 

One… Two… Three… Four… I Declare War

Serah is a Power, one of the warrior angels, she spends her time protecting children from evil and she truly believes that the world around her is perfect. When something tragic happens and her brother Sam falls from Heaven, her world is torn apart and she is given another task, to try and talk the devil himself out of starting the apocalypse.

Going to Hell though will make her question everything.

Lucifer, or Luce as he prefers to be called – he hates being called Satan! – is surprisingly captivating and very much imprisoned withing his own version of Hell. Something Serah did not expect. But after all, he is an Archangel, just a fallen one.

In order to get the answers she wants, including where her fallen brother is, Serah has to play a game with Luce and every time she wins she’ll get an answer. But you can’t win when you play with the devil himself.

Sympathy for the devil, this book truly made me question a lot of things and like Serah, I realized that just because as a general opinion, the devil is ‘the bad guy’ it doesn’t mean that sometimes the bad guy doesn’t have a good side to him. After all, within every evil there’s good, and vice versa.

“It’s not black and white,” he said. “If it were, I wouldn’t be here right now, and neither would you. We’re the gray area, angel. We’re the pieces of the puzzle they don’t know what to do with, the pieces that don’t quite fit into their perfect little picture, so they choose to discard us, to keep their image untainted,but we can only be ignored for so long.”

Apart from the magnificent story that J. M. Darhower delivers – because at this point I would even read the story of a potato if she ever wrote one and I’m sure it would, too, be captivating – the love story between the two of them made me cry like a little girl.

At the end of the book I felt completely drained and at the same time so full of emotions and experience that it truly made me want to get in the book and hug Lucifer!

“I think you’re my apple,” she said quietly. “I don’t regret tasting you. I can’t. You’re not perfect by any means—there are sweeter out there, and you have a few rotten spots—but I’d never have found a juicer apple anywhere in the world.”

This book left me with a bittersweet aftertaste, I pray that there will be some kind of a sequel, but again, as I reflect back to that night that I read it, I can only smile for the great pleasure that it gave me. I can easily say that – paranormal is a bonus – this book is for the hopeless romantic and those who believe that polar opposites attract and that’s when the true fireworks begin.

“Someday she’d remember, she swore. Someday she’d know his name. Someday she’d know hers. And someday, she’d know why: why he haunted her every thought, why, when she looked into his eyes, she felt like she was home. Because time passes, and memories fade, but a beating heart never truly forgets anything. Never.”

PURCHASE LINKS

AMAZON US | AMAZON UK | B&N

Kei

Talk to me...

